Science Versus Religion and the Inconvenient Search for Truth

Solor flareThe biggest problem with the science side of the science-versus-religion argument is that nearly all people pick and choose their favorite scientific discoveries to believe in.  That is, we throw out all the research results that are inconvenient to ourselves, personally, and find conviction in the ones (or none) that justify our own biases and behaviors. Conviction is not truth.

The biggest problem with the religion side of the science-versus-religion argument is that nearly all people pick and choose their favorite religious doctrine to believe in.  That is, we throw out all the commandments that are inconvenient to ourselves, personally, and find conviction in the ones (or none) that justify our own biases and behaviors. Conviction is not truth.

I have been guilty of the above… and still am… but, hopefully, to a lesser degree than before.  You, most likely, are guilty as well – even while you are probably saying to yourself at this very moment, “Nah, this cannot be me, for I am open-minded!”  …  And, to that, I say, “Conviction is not truth!”


For either science or religion to be true, they each must allow every person to question absolutely everything and anything in both this world and the worlds we cannot see.

  • We must be free to look at all sides of the scientific arguments on a subject… to find truth and, most challengingly, to find inconvenient truth in science.
  • We must be free to read any religious text… to find truth and, most challengingly, to find inconvenient truth in any religion.
  • (And, usually, they are the religious truths that are the most inconvenient in today’s modern world.)

Likewise, for either science or religion to be true, they each must allow every person equal and unbiased access to their highest authorities and/or deities in the search for truth.

  • Thus, where science fails to reconcile itself – this study shows this, that study shows thatand, if a religion is true, we each must have the right to talk with their deity about it if that deity has ever talked to anyone at all.
  • Thus, where religion fails to reconcile itself – this religion says this, that religion says thatand, if a religion is true, we each must have the right to talk with their deity about it if that deity has ever talked to anyone at all.
  • (And, if a deity has never talked to a mortal human on Earth, then the existence of that deity is purely imaginary and cannot be known.)

In Summation of Me

I do not get to let myself pick and choose my science but, rather, I must consider all scientific discovery equally.  Consequently, I consider all scientific research that fails to adequately address all contrary scientific research to be incomplete.

I do not get to let myself pick and choose my religion but, rather, even though many religions have many subsets of truths, there can be only one absolute set of unwavering truths.  I’m either all in with that set of truths or I’m not, regardless of how inconvenient particular truths may be to me.

Through these principles I have found many truths, and many inconvenient truths, in both science and religion, and they work well together for me.  It has been the source of many tears that I find few willing to look for as many inconvenient truths or, even, inconvenient theories, as I have found.  Where are you others like me?  Where?!  I find it confounding and disturbing to feel so alone in the search for truths in both science and religion.  Surely, there must be more of you out there than the few I have met.  Come out into the light if you are not already.  Yes, it is a punishing world today for those on such a quest as this, but, we need you.  I must always question if I have gone wrong somewhere, in these principles, to be so alone because… even my conviction in these principles may not be truth.

Leave a Reply

